Sign up for our newsletter

Friday morning, the Senate held it’s first floor vote on Judge Brett Kavanaugh’s Supreme Court nomination.

By a vote of 51 to 49, the Senate voted to advance the nomination with their procedural cloture vote.

The Senate will now debate for up to 30 hours before holding a final vote, which is expected to take place Saturday afternoon or evening.

Three of four key senators voted “yes” to advance Kavanaugh’s nomination.

Republican Senators Jeff Flake and Susan Collins both voted to advance Kavanaugh’s nomination.

Democratic Senator Joe Manchin voted yes.

Republican Senator Lisa Murkowski voted no.

Collins has not yet said whether she will actually support Kavanaugh in the final vote, but has stated that she will make her position known at 3pm ET today.

Sign up for our newsletter

Click here to join the comments

Previous articleREPORT: Here’s when Sen. Collins will reveal decision on Kavanaugh
Next articleTrump Tweet: Responds to Kavanaugh vote