Dem Lawmaker Leading Charge To Boycott Inauguration


During the presidential campaign, Democrats were outraged when Donald Trump wouldn’t immediately agree to “accept the outcome” of the election.

However, now that Trump has won, and with his inauguration less than one week away, Democrats on Capitol Hill are still refusing to accept the outcome of the election, and several are going so far as to boycott the inauguration.

Congressman Luis Gutierrez (D-Ill.) has announced he will not attend the inauguration, saying Trump “continues to spew hatred, bigotry, and prejudice.” Instead, he has said he will be attending the anti-Trump “Women’s March on Washington” protest the following day, Jan. 21.

Gutierrez is seemingly leading the charge for Democrats to boycott Trump’s inauguration. In a House floor speech this week, he said he attended both of George W. Bush’s inaugurations but wasn’t about to go to Trump’s.

“I knew that George W. Bush and I would disagree on many issues from trade to health care to the war in Iraq, but I never thought George W. Bush was trying to make my own country hostile to me, my wife, my daughters and my grandson. I never felt he was a threat to the nation I love so deeply and have served now for almost a quarter century,” Gutierrez said.

In an interview Wednesday, Gutierrez admitted that immigration reform is his primary objection. He also claimed in a December CNN interview that Trump “said all crime and all gangs come from Mexico and Latinos.”

“I’m not going to this inauguration,” Gutierrez asserted, and announced that, instead, he and his wife will be “out there marching and protesting.”

Other Democrat congressmen intending to boycott the inauguration are Rep. John Lewis (D-Ga.), who claimed Friday that Trump is “not a legitimate president,” along with Rep Paul Grijalva (D-Ariz.), Jared Huffman (Calif.), Katherine Clark (Mass.), Barbara Lee (Calif.), Mark DeSaulnier (Calif.), Lacy Clay (Mo.), Kurt Schrader (Ore.) and Earl Blumenauer (Ore.).

The Hill reported that the last time lawmakers made such a show of refusing to attend the inauguration was in 1973 when about 165 members of Congress boycotted Richard Nixon’s second inauguration.

H/T: The Hill

If you would like to receive Breaking News text alerts on a smartphone or tablet, download the DML APP which is completely FREE and easy to use. Go to the Google Play Store or the IOS App Store and search for DML APP. Be sure to keep the app’s notifications setting on. Another way to receive alerts is to text to 40404 the following message: follow @realdennislynch (be sure to put a space between the word follow and the @ symbol).

To see more stories like this, sign up below for Dennis Michael Lynch’s email newsletter.


Comment via Facebook

Send this to a friend