Fifty GOP Officials say Trump Would “Put Nation At Risk”


“Donald Trump would be a dangerous President and would put the country’s national security at risk,” claim fifty former Republican national security officials.

In a letter released Monday and published by the New York Times, the GOP officials say, “None of us will vote for Donald Trump,” saying he would be the “most reckless president in American history.”  

The New York Times does point out that “none of the signatories are likely to impress Mr. Trump,” and also note that many of those who signed the letter were active in developing a plan to invade Iraq – something Trump has described as a disaster.

The letter admits that, “we know many have doubts about Hillary Clinton, as do many of us… but Donald Trump is not the answer.”

FBI Director James Comey admitted Hillary Clinton had been “extremely careless” in handling classified information – yet the fifty GOP officials submitting the letter warning against Trump claim he “lacks the temperament to be President.”

John B. Bellinger III, who served as legal adviser for Condoleezza Rice, drafted the letter.  He said some who signed it will vote for Clinton, and some will not vote at all.

In the letter, they claim Trump “weakens the U.S. moral authority as the leader of the fee world.  He appears to lack basic knowledge about and belief in the U.S. Constitution, U.S. laws and U.S. institutions, including religious tolerance, freedom of the press, and an independent judiciary.”

“In addition, Mr. Trump has demonstrated repeatedly that he has little understanding of America’s vital national interests, its complex diplomatic challenges, its indispensable alliances, and the democratic values on which U.S. foreign policy must be based.”

Trump posted his response on his website, saying the people who signed the letter are the ones who created the mess, and “we can thank them for coming forward.”


“The names on this letter are the ones the American people should look to for answers on why the world is a mess, and we thank them for coming forward so everyone in the country knows who deserves the blame for making the world such a dangerous place. They are nothing more than the failed Washington elite looking to hold onto their power, and it’s time they are held accountable for their actions.

These insiders – along with Hillary Clinton – are the owners of the disastrous decisions to invade Iraq, allow Americans to die in Benghazi, and they are the ones who allowed the rise of ISIS. Yet despite these failures, they think they are entitled to use their favor trading to land taxpayer-funded government contracts and speaking fees. It’s time we put our foot down and declare that their gravy train is over: no longer will Crooked Hillary Clinton and the other disasters in Washington get rich at our expense.

Instead, I offer a better vision for our country and our foreign policy – one that is not run by a ruling family dynasty. It’s an America first vision that stands up to foreign dictators instead of taking money from them, seeks peace over war, rebuilds our military, and makes other countries pay their fair share for their protection. Together, we will break up the rigged system in Washington, make America safe again, and we will Make America Great Again.”

Here are the 50 Republicans who signed the letter:

  • Donald B. Ayer
  • John B. Bellinger III
  • Robert Blackwill
  • Michael Chertoff
  • Eliot A. Cohen
  • Eric Edelman
  • Gary Edson
  • Richard Falkenrath
  • Peter Feaver
  • Richard Fontaine
  • Jendayi Frazer
  • Aaron Friedberg
  • David Gordon
  • Michael Green
  • Brian Gunderson
  • Paul Haenle
  • Michael Hayden
  • Carla A. Hills
  • John Hillen
  • William Imboden
  • Reuben Jeffrey III
  • James Jeffrey
  • Ted Kassinger
  • David Dramer
  • James Langdon
  • Peter Lichtenbaum
  • Mary Beth Long
  • Clay Lowrey
  • Robert McCallum
  • Richard Miles
  • Andrew Natsios
  • John Negroponte
  • Meghan O’Sullivan
  • Dan Price
  • Tom Ridge
  • Nicholas Rostow
  • Kori Schake
  • Kristen Silverberg
  • Stephen Slick
  • Shirin R. Tahir-Kheli
  • William H. Taft IV
  • Larry D. Thompson
  • William Tobey
  • John Veroneau
  • Kenneth Wainstein
  • Matthew Waxman
  • Don Zakheim
  • Roger Zakheim
  • Philip Zelikow
  • Robert Zoellick

If you would like to receive Breaking News text alerts on a smartphone or tablet, download the DML APP which is completely FREE and easy to use. Go to the Google Play Store or the IOS App Store and search for DML APP. Be sure to keep the app’s notifications setting on. Another way to receive alerts is to text to 40404 the following message: follow @realdennislynch (be sure to put a space between the word follow and the @ symbol).

To see more stories like this, sign up below for Dennis Michael Lynch’s email newsletter.


Comment via Facebook

Send this to a friend