List of 18 senators who voted against ending government shutdown


The Senate voted Monday morning to bring an end to their debate over the government shutdown and agreed to hold a vote later in the day to move forward and reopen the government, after Republicans agreed to start working on legislation to provide DACA protection for illegal alien ‘dreamers.’

The pact they agreed on will fund the government through February 8, at which time they must have an immigration deal completed.

The vote to halt the end the stalemate passed 81-18.  Two Republicans were among those voting against it – Rand Paul (KY) and Mike Lee (UT).

“Trump’s unwillingness to compromise caused the shutdown,” declared Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer. Even as he caved and agreed to move forward, Schumer said, “The great deal-making president sat on the sidelines.”

Below is the list of 18 senators who voted to oppose the move:

  • Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)
  • Cory Booker (D-NJ)
  • Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV)
  • Dianne Feinstein (D-DA)
  • Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY
  • Kamala Harris (D-CA)
  • Mazie Hirono (D-HI)
  • Mike Lee (R-UT)
  • Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
  • Ed Markley (D-MA)
  • Robert Menendez (D-NJ)
  • Jeff Merkley (D-OR)
  • Chris Murphy (D-CT)
  • Rand Paul (R-KY)
  • Bernie Sanders (I-VT)
  • Jon Tester (D-MT)
  • Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)
  • Ron Wyden (D-OR)

If you would like to receive Breaking News text alerts on a smartphone or tablet, download the DML APP which is completely FREE and easy to use. Go to the Google Play Store or the IOS App Store and search for DML APP. Be sure to keep the app’s notifications setting on. Another way to receive alerts is to text to 40404 the following message: follow @realdennislynch (be sure to put a space between the word follow and the @ symbol).

To see more stories like this, sign up below for Dennis Michael Lynch’s email newsletter.


Comment via Facebook

Send this to a friend