President Trump signs new immigration order

A new, revised executive order on immigration was signed by President Trump Monday morning that includes important changes expected to help it avoid the legal pitfalls that occurred with the original order.

The new order goes into effect Mar. 16 and blocks all refugee admissions into the United States for four months.

Iraq is no longer one of the banned countries on the ban, and wording about religious minorities has been removed from the policy.

The new policy clarifies that legal permanent residents of the U.S. or people who have a valid visa are not affected by the ban.

The complete executive order has been published in its entirety on the White House website.

Instead of speaking about the order himself, President Trump allowed Sec. of State Rex Tillerson, Attorney Gen. Jeff Sessions, and Homeland Security secretary John Kelly to host a news conference and explain the new immigration policy.

Related News: Conway speaks out on Trump’s new immigration order


Comment via Facebook


Comment via Disqus

Send this to a friend