Ted Cruz Introduces Term Limits Amendment


Texas Sen. Ted Cruz and Florida Rep. Ron DeSantis introduced a constitutional amendment on Tuesday that would impose term limits on senators to two terms (12 years total) and representatives to three terms (six years total).

President-elect Trump has supported implementing term limits throughout his entire campaign.

In a statement on Tuesday, Cruz said, “D.C. is broken. The American people resoundingly agreed on Election Day, and President-elect Donald Trump has committed to putting government back to work for the American people. It is well past time to put an end to the cronyism and deceit that has transformed Washington into a graveyard of good intentions.”desantis_landing_shareimage_v1-1

U.S. Term Limits President Philip Blumel said, “Trump, Speaker Ryan and huge majorities of the American people are demanding term limits. Congress must listen and pass the Cruz-DeSantis amendment immediately.”

A Rasmussen Reports survey done in October found “three-quarters of Americans supported implementing term limits, while 13 percent did not.”

The amendment was co-sponsored by Republican Sens. Deb Fischer of Nebraska, Ron Johnson of Wisconsin, Thom Tillis of North Carolina, Marco Rubio of Florida, Mike Lee of Utah and David Perdue of Georgia.

H/T: Washington Examiner

If you would like to receive Breaking News text alerts on a smartphone or tablet, download the DML APP which is completely FREE and easy to use. Go to the Google Play Store or the IOS App Store and search for DML APP. Be sure to keep the app’s notifications setting on. Another way to receive alerts is to text to 40404 the following message: follow @realdennislynch (be sure to put a space between the word follow and the @ symbol).

To see more stories like this, sign up below for Dennis Michael Lynch’s email newsletter.


Comment via Facebook

Send this to a friend