Sign up for our newsletter

Tuesday afternoon, President Trump re-tweeted a post originally put out by his son, Eric Trump, which included a list of all the states facing a deadline for voter registration.

Eric Trump wrote: “Friends, today is the LAST day to register to vote in in the following states! AZ, AR, FL, GA, IN, HI, KY, LA, MI, MS, NM, NV, OH, PA, TN & TX.”

The president then tweeted a notice that he had approved an Emergency Declaration for the state of Florida, due to the approaching Hurricane Michael.

The full declaration, posted on the White House website, reads as follows:

Today, President Donald J. Trump declared that an emergency exists in the State of Florida and ordered Federal assistance to supplement State and local response efforts due to the emergency conditions resulting from Hurricane Michael beginning on October 7, 2018, and continuing.

The President’s action authorizes the Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), to coordinate all disaster relief efforts which have the purpose of alleviating the hardship and suffering caused by the emergency on the local population, and to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Stafford Act, to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe.

Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and provide at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency.  Debris removal and emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance, will be provided at 75 percent Federal funding in the counties of Bay, Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Hamilton, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Madison, Suwannee, Taylor, and Wakulla.  Emergency protective measures, limited to direct federal assistance will be provided at 75 percent funding in the counties of Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Citrus, Columbia, Dixie, Escambia, Gilchrist, Hernando, Hillsborough, Holmes, Lafayette, Levy, Manatee, Okaloosa, Pasco, Pinellas, Santa Rosa, Union, Walton, and Washington.

Brock Long, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Thomas J. McCool as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected areas.


Sign up for our newsletter

Click here to join the comments

Previous articleREPORT: New PAC launched to ‘encourage’ former governor to run in 2020
Next articleREPORT: Women’s co-working network dedicates space to Christine Blasey Ford