Visa Waiver Program Countries Not Sharing Terror Lists


The U.S. has a visa waiver program agreement with 38 countries, allowing business travelers and tourists to fill out a basic online form and enter the U.S. for up to 90 days without having to obtain a visa or submit to an interview.

In 2015, Congress passed legislation requiring those countries to supply identifies and information about any travelers who are suspected terrorists or have a criminal history.  The 38 countries included in the program are listed HERE. A report has revealed that more than one-third of VWP countries are not sharing the terrorist identity information as required, Fox News has reported.

Moreover, according to the report, three of the top 10 countries who supply fighters to ISIS are Visa Waiver Program countries.

The danger exists because these countries are considered allies of the U.S., but some contains pockets of radical Islam, according to Rep. Ron DeSantis, R-Florida.   “The problem is Islamic Jihad is not confined to the Middle East but is throughout Europe including in those countries participating in the program,” DeSantis said.

Two major concerns exist: Some VWP countries have citizens who originated from terror-affiliated regions, and and/or have become radicalized within the VWP countries.

A third concern is the fact that thousands of foreigners have overstayed their visas after entering the U.S.  See: Feds Admit Visa Overstay Illegals Almost Never Caught

Belgian citizens from neighborhoods associated with radicalization, for instance, can travel freely under the waiver program. And while the recently passed law technically prevented foreign nationals who have traveled to Syria, Iraq, Iran, Libya and other countries of concern from using the program, the Obama administration in January announced it would let certain individuals who have traveled to those countries utilize the VWP.

Visa Waiver Program 1

If you would like to receive Breaking News text alerts on a smartphone or tablet, download the DML APP which is completely FREE and easy to use. Go to the Google Play Store or the IOS App Store and search for DML APP. Be sure to keep the app’s notifications setting on. Another way to receive alerts is to text to 40404 the following message: follow @realdennislynch (be sure to put a space between the word follow and the @ symbol).

To see more stories like this, sign up below for Dennis Michael Lynch’s email newsletter.


Comment via Facebook

Send this to a friend