VIDEO: Women’s doubles team disqualified from French Open after ball girl gets hit in neck

Sign up for DML's newsletter

If you paid for a TeamDML Membership and would like to see every article, and see them without the ads, please click here. If you are NOT a member, or if your Membership has expired, and you would like to join TeamDML please click here.

As the most reliable and balanced news aggregation service on the internet, DML News App offers the following information published by

Miyu Kato and Aldila Sutjiadi were disqualified from the French Open after a ball hit in between points by Kato hit a ball girl during their third-round match on Sunday.

After the women’s doubles pair from Japan and Indonesia, respectively, went down by a set to Czech Republic’s Marie Bouzkova and Spain’s Sara Sorribes Tormo, they held a 3-1 edge in the second set before the match was called by the umpire.

Both the ball girl and Kato were in tears after the incident.

The announcer on the Tennis Channel said, “You can tell it was inadvertent, she was hitting the ball back, but it’s the rule. If you hit a ball person or a lines person, anyone in the stands, it’s an automatic default. This was a tough scene.”

“These things happen,” the announcer continued. “The fact is, the rule is in place so that you avoid hurting or injuring anybody.”


The Dennis Michael Lynch Podcast is available below. Never miss an episode. Subscribe to the show by downloading The DML News App or go to Apple Podcasts.

To get more information about this article, please visit