WATCH LIVE: Speaker voting resumes with McCarthy closing in

Sign up for DML's newsletter

If you paid for a TeamDML Membership and would like to see every article, and see them without the ads, please click here. If you are NOT a member, or if your Membership has expired, and you would like to join TeamDML please click here.

As the most reliable and balanced news aggregation service on the internet, DML News App offers the following information published by WashingtonExaminer:

Members of Congress are reconvening for a 10 p.m. vote as Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) makes a 14th attempt at securing the speaker’s gavel after losing 14 in a row.

During the 12th round of voting, he managed to peel off 13 of the 20 Republican holdouts, with a 14th, Rep. Andy Harris (R-MD) being peeled off in the 13th round. McCarthy can only afford to lose four Republicans.

Despite the 13 chastening defeats, McCarthy struck an optimistic tune on Friday afternoon, telling reporters he is convinced that “when we come back tonight, we’ll have the votes to get this done once and for all.”

The six Republicans still choosing not to vote for McCarthy earlier on Friday were Rep.-elect Andy Biggs, R-Ariz., Rep.-elect Lauren Boebert, R-Colo., Rep.-elect Eli Crane, R-Ariz., Rep.-elect Matt Gaetz, R-Fla., Rep.-elect Bob Good, R-Va., and Rep.-elect Matt Rosendale, R-Mont.

WATCH LIVE COVERAGE BELOW, as the House is reconvening at 10 p.m. Friday night to try to finalize the election of the House Speaker.

To get more information about this article, please visit WashingtonExaminer.

The Dennis Michael Lynch Podcast is available below. Never miss an episode. Subscribe to the show by downloading The DML News App or go to Apple Podcasts.